Can The Wiz Be The Shiz In The Eastern Conference?

By: Sandy Naser

How about the race going on for position in the eastern conference playoffs tonight?

    I gotta admit I know squat about this Washington Wizards team so I’m hoping to see them in the playoffs and see what this young upstart team is all about. 

    If my calculations are correct, the Wizards are locked in a battle for positing and could finish anywhere from No. 5 through the No. 7 seed depending on what takes place tonight. 

     If you will recall, the Wizards finished the 2013-2014 season with a 29-53 record. They will finish this season with at least 43 wins, 44 if they beat Boston, in Boston.

     As much hype as the Phoenix Suns have gotten, and deservedly so, the Wizards have also, clearly taken multiple steps in the right direction

    With the eastern conference being so streaky and up and down, I’m not sure the Wizards have any kind of legitimate shot at getting to the east semis, but why not, I’ve certainly seen stranger things.

     With a tandem of young and talented guards, Washington can only get better. 

     Depending on if he keeps improving, Wizards point guard John Wall might be thought of as one of the top three point guards in the very near future. His 19.4 points per game and 8.8 assists this season mean’s he’s already a top-ten guard. Shooting percentage of 43 percent needs some work.

   Gotta say, I looked at the Wizards stats today and I saw Bradley Beal in there as the second leading scorer. 

    Is it sad for me to admit I looked around and said, who?

   Well, Beal is averaging 17 per game this season. His 42 percent shooting percentage also needs some work, but he is shooting 40 percent from the field this season. 

   A young, athletic, tandem of guards could be problematic for just about anyone. I’m hoping the Wizards get locked in with the Raptors because I want to see one of these young teams take the next step.

     Don’t forget about Laker castoff, Trevor Ariza who scores at a 14.4 clip with 6.2 rebounds. Ariza is one of those guys the Lakers probably regret losing, but he does have some playoff experience and that will help these young Wizards as they enter the playoffs. 

 What about big boy, Marcin Gortat in the middle. Another guy that just doesn’t blow your socks off with athleticism, but at the end of the day he’s contributing 13.2 points and 9.5 rebounds. Like Ariza, he’s got playoff experience and could be a factor. 

    And then you have Nene who averages 14.3 points and 5.6 rebounds.

  Decent bench with Martell Webster, Drew Gooden, Al Harrington and Trevor Booker.

  While a lot of people are slinging mud on this year’s NBA playoffs, I have to say I’m excited as hell to see some new players and new teams on the big stage.

   If the Wizards can keep the nucleus together and add another piece or two, they could be a team that contends in a year or two. 

     I don’t like them matchup up with Chicago and certainly not with the Heat if they fall to that No. 7 seed.

     Wizards vs. Raptors could be one of the most entertaining series’ I’ve looked forward to in years.

   C’mon Wiz, show us your shizz. 

Leave a comment